Skip to content

Leveraging the Power of Infographics - Randy Krum

The following is a resource sheet provided by Randy Krum of InfoNewt and coolinfographics.com, who spoke on the topic of leveraging the power of infographics at our E-Learning Symposium last Wednesday.

Randy Krum

Intro to Infographics

NASA Planet Four: http://planetfour.org/
Tower of Beer: http://www.rothira.com/tower-of-beer
2011 Wisconsin Crash Calendar: http://www.ghsa.org/html/resources/showcase/wi1.html

Online Infographics

How Affiliate Marketing Works: http://www.sugarrae.com/affiliate-marketing/how-affiliate-marketing-works/
History of Christmas Trees: http://www.christmastreemarket.com/History-of-the-Christmas-Tree-Origin-...
Motorcycle Helmet Laws: http://infonewt.com/portfolio/client-work/15569745
Sage Hill School: http://www.sagehillschool.org/podium/default.aspx?t=1409
Honda Accord: http://www.flickr.com/photos/hondanews/7950209832
Hotels.com Infographics: http://press.hotels.com/en-us/infographics/
Sudan Bombing: http://www.sudanbombing.org/infographic
Bringing Down Osama Bin Laden: http://columnfivemedia.com/work-items/namesake-infographic-breakdown-of-...
Death & Taxes Poster: http://deathandtaxesposter.com
The Visual History of Halloween: http://www.frightcatalog.com/halloween-history/
Student Bullying: http://www.buckfirelaw.com/library/student-bullying-in-united-states-sta...
James Bond Movies: http://blogs.hrblock.com/2012/09/25/50-years-of-bond-james-bond-infograp...

Internal Infographics

Bedford Budget Poster: http://infonewt.com/portfolio/client-work/8781697
My Digital Life 2.0: http://infonewt.com/portfolio/client-work/8784483

Design Tips

The Caffeine Poster: http://www.coolinfographics.com/caffeine-poster/
The BBC-o-Gram: http://www.informationisbeautiful.net/2010/the-bbc-o-gram/
The Obama Energy Agenda: http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2011/05/06/president-jobs-gas-prices-read...
Periodic Table of Visualization Methods: http://www.visual-literacy.org/periodic_table/periodic_table.html
The Visual Miscellaneum: http://amzn.to/MjBdPq
The Conversation Prism: http://www.theconversationprism.com/
Aftermath of the Haiti Earthquake: http://designforhaiti.com/6442

Infographic Tools

The Noun Project: http://thenounproject.com/
Wordle: http://www.wordle.net/
Chartle: http://www.chartle.net/
DIY Chart: http://diychart.com/
Gliffy: http://www.gliffy.com
Piktochart: http://piktochart.com/
Easel.ly: http://www.easel.ly/
Infogr.am: http://infogr.am/
Google Public Data: http://www.google.com/publicdata/directory
Tableau Public: http://www.tableausoftware.com/public/
BatchGeo: http://batchgeo.com/
LinkedIN Maps: http://inmaps.linkedinlabs.com/
Infographic Resumes Pinterest Board: http://pinterest.com/rtkrum/infographic-visual-resumes/
Vizualize.me: http://vizualize.me/
CVgram.me: https://cvgram.me/
Kinzaa: http://kinzaa.com/
Re.vu: http://re.vu/
ResumUP: http://resumup.com/

More Information

Edward Tufte: http://www.edwardtufte.com
FlowingData: http://flowingdata.com/
Visualize This book, Nathan Yau: http://amzn.to/NxjuXi
The Power of Infographics book, Mark Smiciklas: http://amzn.to/MwuF4c
Information Graphics book, Sandra Rendgen: http://amzn.to/PhROXf
The Data Journalism Handbook: http://datajournalismhandbook.org/

Contact Info

Cool Infographics book, Randy Krum: http://amzn.to/139upf4
Cool Infographics Blog: http://www.coolinfographics.com/
LinkedIN: http://www.linkedin.com/in/rtkrum/
Twitter: @rtkrum https://twitter.com/rtkrum
Google+: http://gplus.to/rtkrum
InfoNewt Infographics Design: http://infonewt.com/
Email: randy@infonewt.com

glqxz9283 sfy39587p01